“Hush” review

FilmStill-93.0.0.jpeg

Hush is a movie written and directed by Mike Flanagan and was distributed by Netflix. I honestly wasn’t expecting much of the movie, but I was a little bit surprised.

Maddie (Kate Siegel) is a deaf writer, who lives in a cottage in the woods. One night, as she is working on the ending of her new book, a masked man (John Gallagher Jr) starts to stalk and terrorize her. The premise of the movie might sound similar to the one of Wait Until Dark, a 1967 movie directed by Terence Young and staring Audrey Hepburn. I guess Hush was probably inspired by it to some extent, but it still was pretty entertaining. I found the suspense quite good; since the main character is deaf, we sometimes “become” deaf with her. What I mean here is that sometimes the sound cuts off and just like her, we don’t hear what is going on. I thought this brought something very interesting to the movie. I also love how minimalist the movie was; it all takes place in the same location and we only see 5 characters throughout the whole movie (including one we only see on a computer screen). I also quite enjoyed a little sequence near the end, which I do not want to spoil so here: Spoiler Alert – I liked the sequence where she tries to figure out every outcome possible, quite like when she writes many different endings for her book. I’m not usually a big fan of similar sequences, but I did not mind this one. End of spoiler (that might not have been a spoiler but hey whatevs right).

hush-Segal.jpg

Something I did not really like was that the bad guy takes off his mask too soon. I know it sounds silly, but I thought he was much scarier with his mask on, more mysterious. None of the actors were excellent, but they were good enough for their performances to be believable. For example,  John Gallagher Jr’s acting was not always on point; I sometimes didn’t find him threatening when he should have been. Maybe if he had kept his mask on longer, I’d have been more scared. However, Kate Siegel’s performance was better. I got attached to her character and really wanted her to win.

I’ve always loved movies with home invasions, because they usually terrify me. I have no idea how I’d react if someone attacked me in my own house. This movie did not terrify me, but I found it entertaining. Nothing in this movie is mind-blowing, but it is still very enjoyable. I probably will not watch it again, but I don’t regret seeing it. I think it was a good “realistic” horror/thriller movie and it would definitely be fun to watch with friends at a sleepover or something.

Hush: B

One thought on ““Hush” review”

Leave a Reply

