3 movies I used not to like

Sometimes you watch a movie and you’re too young to appreciate it. Or you’re just not in the right mood. Or you don’t understand it. And that’s enough to make you dislike a movie. Fortunately, I like to watch movies more than once, even when I don’t like them. And sometimes I realize that a movie I didn’t like is actually pretty good. So here are three movies I used not to like.

The Cabin in the Woods (2012)

MTM1MTQ0MTk0MDU0NTM5Mjc0.jpg

I first saw this movie with friends, in theatre. And we missed the first thirty minutes or so. I really didn’t like it; I thought it was lazy and stupid and did not quite make sense. About a year later, in a cinema class, we watched it. I was quite bummed because of the opinion I had of it. But when I saw the thirty minutes I had missed, I truly understood the movie. And I loved it. We then had to analyze it and it was so interesting! The Cabin in the Woods became a favourite of mines and I think it is one of the cleverest (maybe the most clever) movies of the genre.

Mulholland Dr. (2001)

primary_Mulholland-Drive-Criterion-2015.jpg

Boy did I hate this movie though. The first time I saw it, I was about 8. Clever, I know. I had no idea of what was going on, I didn’t understand a thing and I swore never to watch it again. When I was 16, I decided to give it another try. I did not understand everything just yet, but I liked it a lot more. And when I was 18, we had to watch it for a class. I have to admit, I still didn’t fully understand, some parts still remained blurry to me, but I started loving the movie; I even bought it on dvd. What I like is that every time I watch it, I understand it a little bit more. I haven’t watch it since I was 18, I should watch it again soon, maybe I’ll fully understand it this time.

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World (2010)

scott-pilgrim-vs-the-world-1024.jpg

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is now one of my favourite movies. I absolutely love it! I love Edgar Wright’s work as a director, so I was surprised when I didn’t like this movie at first. I don’t really know why, but I just did not enjoy it. Okay I actually kinda know why; I was not really paying attention to it, I was on my phone the whole time… Shame on me. A few months later, I decided to watch it again, and I discovered a great movie, very funny and so cool to watch. I never read the graphic novels, but I read reviews that said the movie really captured the atmosphere of the books, which is always great.

Leave a Reply

