Another 5 favourites

I love a lot of movies you know? So I thought I’d make another list of favourite movies, because why not eh?

The Big Lebowski (1998)

film-the_big_lebowski-1998-the_dude-jeff_bridges-tops-pendleton_shawl_cardigan.jpg

I saw this movie for the first time in class, only a few years ago, and I absolutely loved it! The Dude (Jeff Bridges) became some kind of a hero to me, because he’s just so calm and nothing really worries him. I’d like to reach this level of chill one day. It is a very nihilistic movie; nothing actually happens, and what does happen happens for nothing. It is funny and quirky and has a great social message. The performances are all great, especially John Goodman as Walter, who is the absolute opposite of the Dude.

The Grand Budapest Hotel (2014)

grand-budapest_2813768b.jpg

This movie was directed by Wes Anderson and, as usual in a Wes Anderson movie, stars many big names. It is also a very beautiful, aesthetically pleasing movie. The movie is also a lot of fun: it tells the stories Mr. Gustave (Ralph Fiennes), concierge of the famous hotel, and Zero (Tony Revolori), the lobby boy. We also get to know the people staying at the hotel, all more colourful that the others. Many stories intertwine, which creates a very entertaining movie.

A Clockwork Orange (1971)

16568354127_fc632aa1b2_b.jpg

I’ve loved this movie since I was 8. It is, according to me, one of Stanley Kubrick’s bests (also, the book by Anthony Burgess is amazing, one of my favourite books). Malcolm McDowell as Alex is fantastic. Every time I watch this movie, I get chills. In a somewhat near future, ultra violence becomes the norm and Alex and his droogs have a lot of fun fighting, raping and terrorizing. Alex gets arrested after “accidentally” killing a woman. In prison, he is subject to many experiments and learns to hate violence. This movie really makes you think about the society we live in and you definitely look at violence differently after watching it.

Harold and Maude (1971)

harold-et-maude-1971-08-g.jpg

Harold (Bud Cort) is obsessed with death. Maude (Ruth Gordon) loves life. He’s a young adult and she’s 79, but they become best friends and lovers. They meet at a funeral of someone none of them knew; both of them were there to pass time. I saw this movie for the first time on television when I was about 13 and I fell in love with it instantly. I identified so much with both Harold and Maude, I couldn’t think of anything else for weeks. Plus, all the Cat Stevens’ songs we hear throughout the movie got stuck in my head for months (like, I still sing If You Want to Sing Out, Sing Out all the time).

Kynodontas (2009)

Dogtooth1.jpg

Kynodontas (or Dogtooth in English) is a very weird movie that can easily and understandably make you uneasy. We follow the life of a family, all of them remaining unnamed, and very strange things are going on. The father (Christos Stergioglou) and the mother (Michele Valley) keep their two daughters (Aggeliki Papoulia and Mary Tsoni) and their son (Hristos Passalis) captive. None of the “kids” (they’re in their late teens/early twenties) has seen the outside world. They think planes in the sky are toys, cats are extremely dangerous and they learn an entirely “new” vocabulary (like, the movie starts with the three of them listening to a tape and they learn the meaning of carbine as “a beautiful white bird”). It is unsettling, but makes you think a lot.

Leave a Reply

