Favourite summer blockbusters

Summer is on its way, which means summer 2016 blockbusters are coming too. I thought I could make a quick little list (I do love lists don’t I?) of some of my favourite summer blockbusters, once again in random order. Obviously, I’m too young to have seen all of them in theatre, but still.

Jaws (1975)

lead_960.jpg

Steven Spielberg’s Jaws obviously had to make the list. Not only is it considered the first summer blockbuster, but it is an entertaining movie. Man against shark, in a boat that is wayyyyyy too small. And that music, that very simple music, is one of the most effective I’ve ever heard in a movie; everybody knows it. You might not have seen the movie, but you’ve heard of it, you know the story and you definitely know the music. One of my favourite scenes is when Brody (Roy Scheider), Quint (Robert Shaw) and Hooper (Richard Dreyfuss) are on the boat one night, talking about the stories behind their scars and broken hearts. It allows you to learn so much about them! So simple, but so effective.

Toy Story 3 (2010)

toystory3_img10_720.jpg

Even though I did not mention Toy Story (1995) in my Childhood favourites list, it definitely is one of them (I actually don’t know why I didn’t mention it? Shame on me). And that is why Toy Story 3 is so close to my heart. Just like the 2 other instalments before it, Toy Story 3 is able to please children, teens and adults. It is funny, yet, if you grew up with Toy Story like I did, you can get quite emotional. The animation is amazing, and it was so much fun to see all those characters on an adventure once again! Even though I was not a kid anymore when I saw this third instalment, it made me feel like one again, just like when I was wondering if my toys actually moved when I was away.

Back to the Future (1985)

Back-to-the-Future-Honest-Trailer.jpg

Isn’t this movie one of the greatest movies ever? I always thought it was fantastic. Marty McFly (Michael J. Fox) is one of my favourite movie characters ever and his adventure is such a great one! Imagine meeting your parents when they were in high school. How crazy would that be? I could probably watch this movie everyday. Marty and Doc Brown (Christopher Lloyd) are one of the best movie duos ever created and I love the fact that everybody accepts that they are best friends, even though the origin of such a friendship is never explained.

Ghostbusters (1984)

ghostbusters-aykroyd.jpg

I saw this movie for the first time when I was a kid and I remember being quite scared of the fridge scene; I didn’t want to open the fridge for a week. It is funny, but it is also able to be mildly scary at times. The story has always been a lot of fun to me. I’ve always loved when a movie combines monsters or ghosts (or any “scary” stuff) with comedy. I absolutely love Sigourney Weaver as Dana Barrett and Harold Ramis as Egon Spengler. I’m quite excited to see this summer’s remake, I hope it’ll be good!

Jurassic Park (1993)

jurassic park t rex first.jpg

Jurassic Park is my absolute favourite movie on this list. It actually is one of my favourite movies ever. The dinosaurs are so amazing, they look so real! I know, more recent discoveries prove that the movie is full of mistakes dinosaur-wise, but still, don’t they look terrifying and majestic? Not gonna lie, if they ever open a real Jurassic Park, I’ll probably be the first person to go, like, screw danger, I wanna see the dinosaurs. When I was a kid, I wanted to become a paleontologist, purely because of this movie. It scared the hell out of me, but also fascinated me. It is one of the most visually stunning movies I have ever seen.

Leave a Reply

